Grandparent Alienation Is Not Natural


Grieving the loss of a living family member is similar to grieving the death of a family member.

Giving grief a voice

“How, I wondered, does she do it? Her explanation simultaneously reassured and devastated me: ‘‘I need people not to misunderstand my sense of being okay. They shouldn’t decide that I’ve moved on, accepted my loss or, God forbid, replaced my precious son. Instead, people should know that it’s possible to choose to be okay whilst at the same time living with a broken heart.’’
For some people, grief may well morph into something self-destructive that requires medical support. This assistance should be made readily available. But for the majority of those who experience loss, I suspect they just need to be allowed to mourn vocally and whole-heartedly, without fear of some arbitrary time limit dictating that their pain has run its course.” Jill Stark is a senior writer with The Sunday Age
Grandparent Alienation Is Not Natural
Read more: http://www.smh.com.au/lifestyle/life/blogs/stark-naked/giving-grief-a-voice-20131015-2vjhj.html#ixzz2os520mnA

Leave a Reply

